Ashtanga = 8-Limbed Path

Ashta= 8 . . . . . . . . Anga = Limb

The union of all eight limbs creates a holistic system and way of life. The eight limbs are outlined in the sacred text, Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

1. Yama

Restraint, Discipline, Power to Say NO

Ahimsa- non-harming Satya- Truthfulness, virtuous Asteya- Non-stealing Bramacharya- Responsibly managing your sexual/creative energy Aparigraha- Non-possessiveness

2. Niyama

Observances, Power to Say YES

Saucha- Cleanliness of mind and body Santosa- Contentment, equanimity Tapas- Discipline, intense spiritual practice Svadhyaya- Self-inquiry, study of sacred texts Isvara-Pranidhana- Surrender or Dedication to Divine or Higher Power

3. Asana


This is the physical practice most commonly known in the West and characterized as Yoga.

4. Pranayama


Developing skill and relationship with breathing.

5. Pratyahara

Sense Withdrawal

Withdrawing your mind inward, refraining to act on external sensations. Residing in the immovable spot of your posture.

6. Dharana


Holding or maintaining focused concentration

7. Dhyana


Training the mind to withdraw and detach from the turnings of thought

8. Samadhi


Divine Bliss, Oneness, Pure Consciousness, Dissolving of All Effort